MAJOR AND MINOR: My Operating Room Experience


8vyhy2ax3xyrmydw6h2k5gtfxmlz7vo2

Graduation is near and my diploma won’t be mine without completing required number of cases. All nursing students like me are hoping to get good cases not just to ensure the essential number of cases but of course for the experience. Being rotated in this institution – Pres. Diosdado Macapagal Memorial Medical Center (PDMMMC) – for 5 weeks, I was able to complete everything I need.

I also want my gloves to be stained by blood every time I act as a scrub nurse. It’s a proof saying I did something productive. The feeling of handing the surgeon the right instrument is fulfilling. Because of that, I feel competent enough as a student nurse.  I’m not new in scrubbing. The thing is, I always feel nervous being with surgeons. Honestly, I only knew a few of the OR instruments and I’m happy to say that I was able to familiarize almost everything. Every time we’re called for a case even though I’m not that ready, I’ll start praying for presence of mind because I don’t want to be scolded by my clinical instructor or other staff and of course the doctors. Good thing everyone in there was nice. I was able to adjust myself in dealing with them.

In 5 weeks, I enjoyed acting as a circulating nurse. Not because all I did was to count, but because I love the feeling of assisting the doctors and the staff inside the operating room. I voluntary tie their gowns right after scrubbing and turn the faucet off without any reminders from my clinical instructor. All these experiences will never be forgotten.

I learned a lot every time we’re in action. And every case I had will be kept in mind for my future career as a nurse.

~~~ooo000ooo***!!!***ooo000ooo~~~

Dahil sa last day na namin kanina sa OR (as a student), naisipan kong i-blog yung pinasa kong narrative report. Lamang nga lang ito ng konti kasi may picture pang kasama LOL! HAHAHAHAHA!🙂

2 thoughts on “MAJOR AND MINOR: My Operating Room Experience

  1. Ahhhh, nursing student ka pala! Isa sa mga propesyong kinatatakutan kong maging propesyon pero at the same time hinahangaan ko!Pagraduate ka na!Congratualations in advanced!!!

Leave a Reply

